Skip to content Skip to navigation
See our Campus Ready site for the most up to date information about instruction.Campus ReadyCOVID Help

Faculty

Chris Amemiya
Professor
camemiya@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
My laboratory is interested in the genetic basis and EvoDevo of vertebrate innovations.
David Ardell
Associate Professor
dardell@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Computational biology and evolution of gene expression mechanisms
Miriam Barlow
Professor
mbarlow@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Experimental evolution of antibiotic resistance in bacteria
Laura Beaster-Jones
Associate Teaching Professor
lbeaster-jones@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Michael Beman
Associate Professor
mbeman@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Microbial ecology and biogeochemical cycling in the oceans
Gordon M. Bennett
Associate Professor
gbennett2@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Evolution of animal-microbial symbioses
Associate Professor
jblois@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Terrestrial paleoecology, niche and community modeling and phylochronology
Wei-Chun Chin
Professor
wchin2@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Polymer physics and engineering of cellular and environmental systems
QSB Professor Michael Cleary
Associate Professor
mcleary4@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Post-transcriptional regulation of gene expression during nervous system development
Professor
mcolvin@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Classical molecular dynamics simulations of flexible proteins and nucleic acids.
Michael Dawson
Professor
(209) 228-4056
mdawson@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Biogeography, evolutionary ecology, and comparative genomics.
Eva de Alba
Associate Professor
edealbabastarrechea@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Molecular and mechanistic bases of cellular processes essential to life from a biochemical and biophysics perspective.
Betsy Dumont
Professor and Dean
edumont@ucmerce.edu
Research Program:
Research focuses on understanding the relationships between morphology, behavior and performance in a variety of vertebrates including bat, carnivoran and avian species.
Bercem Dutagaci
Assistant Professor
bdutagaci@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Molecular dynamics simulations and machine learning modeling of biomolecular systems with a focus on RNA polymerase dynamics, function, and spatial organizations.
Danielle Edwards
Assistant Professor
(209) 228-2596
dedwards5@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Ecological, phenotypic, genomic and behavioral evolution of reptiles and amphibians; Conservation genetics/genomics
Roberto Andresen Eguiluz
Assistant Professor
randreseneguiluz@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Understanding how molecular interactions and forces across several length scales affect function in biology
Professor
aescobar4@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Calcium in cardiac cellular signaling and techniques to study cardiac cells in vivo
Associate Professor
cfrank3@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Plant microbiomes; function, community assembly, transmission, and dispersal.
Marcos Garcia-Ojeda
Associate Teaching Professor
(209) 228-6986
mgarcia-ojeda@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Discipline-Based Education Research, didactic methods, microbiology
QSB Professor Xuecai Ge
Assistant Professor
xge2@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Cell signaling in neural development, brain tumors and neurological disorders
Arvind Gopinath
Assistant Professor
agopinath@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
The focus of the Gopinath Lab is to combine experimental observations with minimal analytical models, phenomenological mesoscale theories and agent-based discrete computations to understand the...
Professor
agopinathan@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Theory at the interface of biophysics and soft condensed matter physics
Juris Grasis
Assistant Professor
jagrasis@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Viral metagenomics, systems immunology, microbiome regulation, viral/antiviral discovery
Assistant Professor
ahernday@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Epigenetic and transcriptional networks and metabolic engineering of yeasts
Linda Hirst
Professor
lhirst@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Experimental soft matter physics and biophysics
Katrina Hoyer
Associate Professor
khoyer2@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Immunological tolerance and auto-immune disease, regulatory T cells
Kirk Jensen
Associate Professor
kjensen5@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Parasite pathogenesis and immunology, toxoplasma and host-immune responses
Shilpa Khatri
Associate Professor
skhatri3@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Numerical Analysis, Fluid Dynamics, Applied Math, Applications in Biology and Oceanography
Petra Kranzfelder
Assistant Teaching Professor
pkranzfelder@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Discipline-Based Education Research, biology teaching and learning methods, entomology and aquatic ecology
Associate Professor
cli32@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Cancer imaging, cancer therapy, fluorescence molecular tomography, x-ray imaging, biomedical imaging system and algorithm
Assistant Professor
bliu27@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Transport of microorganisms in complex environments, mechanics of biological media and mechanical metamaterials
Professor
pliwang@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
The P. LiWang Lab uses protein biochemistry to study HIV prevention, HIV eradication, and anti-inflammatory strategies.
Adjunct Associate Professor
gloots@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Limb and skeletal development, genetics of bone metabolism, transcriptomics
QSB Professor Jennifer Manilay
Professor
jmanilay@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Developmental immunology, cell fate regulation, hematopoiesis
Stefan C. Materna
Assistant Professor
smaterna@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Genomic control of gene expression, gene regulatory networks in organismal development.
Kara McCloskey
Associate Professor
kmccloskey@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Stem cell and tissue engineering for regenerative medicine applications
Emily Jane McTavish
Assistant Professor
ejmctavish@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Large scale evolutionary inference Data that can be used to answer evolutionary questions is being generated on unprecedented scales. How can we take advantage of evolutionary information in...
Emily Moran
Associate Professor
emoran5@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Evolutionary ecology of plant responses to environmental change
Victor Muñoz
Professor
vmunoz3@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Structural Biology, Computational Biochemistry and Protein Engineering: Protein Folding, Function and Disease; Molecular Mechanisms of Gene Expression, Fluorescence Biosensors, Molecular Diagnostics
Chih-Wen Ni
Assistant Professor
(209) 228-4308
cni3@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Gene regulation in vascular development and genetic engineering
Michele Nishiguchi
Professor
nish@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Host-microbe interactions and microbial ecology. My research as an evolutionary microbiologist spans the bridge between microbial ecology and the evolution of beneficial associations and is best...
QSB Professor Clarissa Nobile
Associate Professor and Kamangar Family Chair in Biological Sciences
cnobile@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Molecular development of microbial communities, biofilm formation
QSB Professor Rudy Ortiz
Professor
rortiz@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Insulin resistance; cardiorenal and metabolic disorders; comparative physiology of Northern Elephant Seals.
QSB Professor Néstor Oviedo
Professor
noviedo2@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Stem cell regulation, cancer and regeneration in planarians
Assistant Adjunct Professor
sroy5@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Molecular evolution, gene/genome structure, intragenomic conflict, balancing selection, sex chromosomes and determination
Assistant Professor
Research Program:
Biomedical Image Analysis, Mathematical Modeling, Machine Learning, Cancer Treatment and Resistance
Ramen Saha
Associate Professor
rsaha3@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Epigenetics of neuronal gene expression during brain development & function
Associate Professor
jsexton2@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Plant adaptation, species range limits biological invasions and evolutionary conservation science
Professor
ssindi@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Mathematical biology, dynamical systems and computational biology and bioinformatics
Mark Sistrom
Assistant Professor
msistrom@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
We study evolutionary hypotheses in bacterial and viral systems using a combination of computational and laboratory genomic approaches
Paul Smaldino
Assistant Professor
Research Program:
Population dynamics, social and cultural evolution, self-organization, mathematical and computational modeling
E. Maggie Sogin
Assistant Professor
esogin@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Exploration into how microorganisms use molecules to interact with their eukaryotic hosts and their environment. The Sogin lab employs a cross-disciplinary approach that combines metabolomic and meta...
Joel Spencer
Assistant Professor
joel.spencer@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
The Spencer lab is involved in engineering new optical imaging technologies and using these technologies to study, in vivo, the microenvironments and cellular dynamics within tissues.
Anand Bala Subramaniam
Associate Professor
asubramaniam@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Synthetic Biology, Soft Matter Physics, Colloid and Interface Science, Microfabrication and Microfluidics
Shahar Sukenik
Assistant Professor
ssukenik@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Biophysical chemistry, structural biology; Understanding the interplay between proteins and their environment by combining biophysical methods and live cell microscopy
QSB Professor Mike Thompson
Assistant Professor
Research Program:
Molecular motion is critical for protein function, but it remains challenging to study the structural dynamics of complex molecules in atomic detail. My goal is to develop new types of structural and...
DOE Joint Genome Institute/Associate Adjunct Professor
sgtringe@lbl.gov
Research Program:
Sequence-based approaches to studying microbial community assembly, function and dynamics
Adjunct Professor
avisel@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Human functional genomics and enhancers in development and disease
Associate Adjunct Professor
zwang37@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Applications of high-performance computing to big-sequencing data and machine learning
Associate Professor
fwolf@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Genetic and neural coding of behavior in Drosophila
UC Merced Professor Stephanie Woo
Assistant Professor
swoo6@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Tissue morphogenesis, Control of cell migration and cell adhesion during development
Tanja Woyke
Adjunct Associate Professor
twoyke@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Research in the Woyke laboratory focuses on the utility of single-cell methods to access genetic material of uncultivated taxa of interest. One such effort is targeted at environmental cells that...
Jing Xu
Associate Professor
jing.xu@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Experimental biophysics, quantitative biology single-molecule analysis of molecular motors
Associate Professor
jyeakel@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Animal foraging and food web dynamics over space and time
Assistant Professor
mzoghbi@ucmerced.edu
Research Program:
Structural, biochemical and functional studies of membrane transport proteins